Tenancy review for Flat 20 in Coxford, Southampton rented from Chadni Patel rented via Morris Dibben

“Landlord tried to take half the deposit inexcusably”
Flat 20, Coxford, Southampton, SO16 5AR View on map
Overall Tenancy Rating: 3
★★★☆☆☆☆☆☆☆
Moved In: 03/05/2016
Rent: £895
Date reviewed: 17 May 2018
Reviews aren't verified by Marks Out Of Tenancy but we check for and remove fake reviews and content when we’re informed.

Landlord review for Chadni Patel, Enfield Highway

Landlord rating: 1
My partner and I moved in to that large 3rd floor flat on 03/05/2018. The flat had not been cleaned thoroughly and we spent almost 2 days to remove all the dust and clean the carpets.

The vacuum cleaner of the landlord was so damaged that as soon as we turned it on, smoke came out and the fire alarm went off. We threw it away and had to buy our own.
The mattress in one of the two bedrooms started having pointy springs coming out of it and the landlord instead of buying a new one decided to leave us with no mattress unless we bought one for ourselves (and we did unavoidably).
One of the cupboards near the fridge had not been set up properly because one the screws had not been screwed in at all and it almost fell on my partner's head a few days before we moved out.

Despite all that, we cleaned the apartment thoroughly and even left a few stuff back for the new tenants.
And then the time came to receive the deposit... Originally we had deposited 975 pounds.

The landlord asked for 456 pounds! The reasons were:
1) We left stuff behind that had to be thrown away. We had literally stated that we left them back on purpose. Instead of telling us to remove them (it was a small table and a christmas tree), they charged us 48 pounds just for taking them from the 3rd floor to the bins!

2) The landlord wanted 96 pounds for a chair that was missing. When we had moved in the flat had 3 chairs. The landlord claimed there were 4!! And she wanted us to pay 96 pounds for a chair that was never there!

3) The tenancy agreement stated that we had to pay for a professional cleaning. We did not do that hoping to clean it equally well ourselves. We did not achieve that and agreed to pay for a professional cleaning. The landlord wanted 312 pounds for that!! A professional cleaning for a flat of that size could not be more than 100 pounds for sure.

Needless to say, we raised a dispute with the company that had our deposit.

STAY AWAY. There are much cheaper and better places to stay if you are working in Southampton General Hospital.
More reviews for Chadni Patel ⇒

Letting agent review for Morris Dibben, Southampton

Agency rating: 8
Morris Dibbens and Countrywide Lettings have been very helpful. Always answered their emails, always available on the phone. Very objective, no complaint from them.
More reviews for Morris Dibben ⇒

Property review for Flat 20, Coxford, Southampton

Property rating: 3
3rd floor, no elevator
Very large flat. 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms. Kitchen and living room connected, the couch in the living room is gigantic and very soft.
Fully furnished, washing machine, fridge/freezer available, a lot of space for storage. Also has available wardrobes
More reviews for Flat 20 ⇒

Area review for Coxford, Southampton

Area rating: 6
Nothing interesting. The Southampton General Hospital is right across the street so if you are working there the commuting time falls to zero. Ideal for those working long shifts. Also many bus stations nearby, very easy access to City Centre.
Unfortunately, shops are not very close. You can always buy food from M&S in the hospital but it is very expensive.
More reviews for Coxford ⇒

Other reviews in Coxford

Address
Reviewed

Other reviews in SO16

Address
Reviewed
21 February 2024
10 December 2023
17 September 2021
18 August 2021
25 January 2018

Other reviews in Southampton

Address
Reviewed
21 February 2024
10 December 2023
29 October 2023
17 August 2023
26 April 2022
17 September 2021
18 August 2021
18 May 2021
23 March 2021
20 November 2020
13 November 2020
12 July 2020
10 July 2020
09 July 2020
09 July 2020
09 July 2020
18 June 2020
22 May 2020
17 December 2019
12 December 2019
09 December 2019
09 November 2019
02 September 2019
04 July 2019
10 June 2019
23 May 2019
11 March 2019
25 February 2019
21 January 2019
20 January 2019
18 January 2019
18 July 2018
25 January 2018
More reviews in

Would you recommend your landlord or letting agent?

Rate your landlord