Tenancy review for 2 Dunton Road in Leyton, London rented from Wayne Gilkes rented via Madison Fox

“Awful - the worst place we have ever lived”
2 Dunton Road, Leyton, London, E10 7AF View on map
Overall Tenancy Rating: 3
★★★☆☆☆☆☆☆☆
Moved In: 14/11/2019
Rent: £1075
Date reviewed: 19 November 2020
Reviews aren't verified by Marks Out Of Tenancy but we check for and remove fake reviews and content when we’re informed.

Landlord review for Wayne Gilkes, Leyton

Landlord rating: 1
Although seemingly nice enough, the landlord was clearly incredibly lazy and totally profit driven. He was content to leave us totally alone and was very hands off, which would work ok if the property itself wasn't falling apart at the seams. We had a serious damp issue which resulted in our bedroom being completely covered in black mould. It took 4 months to get him to fix it, in which time we had to sleep on the floor in the tiny combined kitchen/living room, meaning we spent the lockdown in one tiny room. The mould and damp was so bad that my partner and I were seriously ill, and I developed asthma which I still suffer from now. We were told the cause of the damp was the upstairs extension roof, which meant he dragged his feet fixing it as he clearly felt it wasn't his responsibility. It ultimately only got repaired once we had reported it to the council and they threatened legal action and we had brought private legal action against him as well. Aside from the damp issues, he had no interest in maintaining the property in any way - there were so many other long-running issues that were basically completely down to his neglect of the property. I would be surprised if he had ever visited the property himself, he seemed to treat it as if it was property-managed by the letting agents but (as they repeatedly told us).
More reviews for Wayne Gilkes ⇒

Letting agent review for Madison Fox, London

Agency rating: 5
They were fine overall. Everyone we interacted with seemed friendly and professional. They had an odd relationship with the landlord where they seemed to be the sole people who would visit and inspect the property but they weren't responsible for its upkeep themselves. For example, they came round when the damp issue first started and agreed it was really bad and needed sorting, but then we had radio silence from them from then on as it wasn't their responsibility to repair it. We were told when we moved in that they had an in-house repair team who could carry out repairs and then they would bill the landlord, but when we actually had the damp issue and the landlord was dragging his feet there was no evidence of this. Besides this, we didn't have much contact with them, but our check in and check out with them was relatively smooth.
More reviews for Madison Fox ⇒

Property review for 2 Dunton Road, Leyton, London

Property rating: 1
It's a small terraced house that has somehow been turned into 3 flats. The flat itself is small and overpriced. It's been seriously neglected and is very run down - all the white goods were breaking or broke during our tenancy, the all the cabinet doors in the kitchen were rusty and falling off. The flat was listed as furnished, but was part furnished at best (which the price should've reflected, but of course didn't) and the furniture that was there was old and falling apart.
We also had a huge issue with damp and black mould which we were told was an isolated incident and they had 'never had an issue with damp before', but when we were moving out we found a few tins of damp seal paint, so clearly not as isolated an incident as they would have us believe. Although we were told the damp issue we had was fixed, the damp and mould was coming back as we were moving out, so clearly there is a deeper structural issue that needs to be addressed. This is the worst place both my partner and I have ever lived, and as young, broke professionals nowadays that is saying something.
More reviews for 2 Dunton Road ⇒

Area review for Leyton, London

Area rating: 5
Relatively nice area with a large Tesco, a post office and a good range of shops. Quite quiet overall. There aren't any good local pubs, which could be a downside. The massive drawback is the lack of public transport links - it's a bus ride or a long walk to both the nearest tube stations. It's not a particularly green area in general, although there is a tiny park a few streets away and a bigger one about 20 minutes walk away. The street itself was quiet and mostly filled with families. There is on street permit parking available, although it was always very busy. We were by far the worst, most run down building on the street. The flat is part of a terraced house and the downstairs flat seems to be short term let rooms rather than a flat itself. The people downstairs were often extremely noisy and because it seemed to be a short term place there were new people coming in and out of the building all the time. We sometimes had issues with post going missing/being thrown away.
More reviews for Leyton ⇒

Other reviews in Leyton

Address
Reviewed
14 October 2022

Other reviews in E10

Address
Reviewed

Other reviews in London

Address
Reviewed
20 February 2024
15 February 2024
15 February 2024
15 February 2024
02 February 2024
30 January 2024
19 January 2024
28 December 2023
27 December 2023
22 December 2023
09 December 2023
08 December 2023
07 December 2023
07 December 2023
07 December 2023
07 December 2023
24 November 2023
23 November 2023
23 November 2023
03 November 2023
02 November 2023
02 November 2023
02 November 2023
02 November 2023
31 October 2023
30 October 2023
26 October 2023
26 October 2023
22 October 2023
20 October 2023
13 October 2023
10 October 2023
10 October 2023
10 October 2023
10 October 2023
05 October 2023
05 October 2023
29 September 2023
28 September 2023
28 September 2023
17 September 2023
14 September 2023
14 September 2023
13 September 2023
11 September 2023
09 September 2023
07 September 2023
31 August 2023
31 August 2023
31 August 2023
31 August 2023
30 August 2023
24 August 2023
24 August 2023
17 August 2023
17 August 2023
11 August 2023
01 August 2023
27 July 2023
17 July 2023
10 July 2023
07 July 2023
04 July 2023
17 June 2023
11 June 2023
11 June 2023
10 June 2023
15 May 2023
05 May 2023
11 April 2023
19 March 2023
09 February 2023
09 February 2023
29 January 2023
21 January 2023
13 January 2023
10 January 2023
08 January 2023
04 December 2022
28 November 2022
10 November 2022
10 November 2022
09 November 2022
17 October 2022
14 October 2022
14 October 2022
30 September 2022
30 September 2022
17 September 2022
28 August 2022
27 August 2022
09 August 2022
22 July 2022
19 July 2022
12 July 2022
12 July 2022
11 July 2022
16 May 2022
03 May 2022
01 May 2022
25 April 2022
08 April 2022
07 April 2022
10 March 2022
06 February 2022
01 February 2022
30 January 2022
11 January 2022
19 December 2021
13 December 2021
10 November 2021
07 November 2021
06 October 2021
01 October 2021
25 September 2021
18 September 2021
31 August 2021
30 August 2021
30 August 2021
24 August 2021
23 August 2021
14 August 2021
10 August 2021
19 July 2021
21 June 2021
17 June 2021
12 June 2021
27 May 2021
18 May 2021
15 May 2021
14 May 2021
08 May 2021
28 April 2021
21 April 2021
14 April 2021
10 April 2021
06 April 2021
29 March 2021
25 March 2021
18 March 2021
15 February 2021
14 February 2021
14 February 2021
14 February 2021
13 February 2021
29 January 2021
19 January 2021
16 January 2021
12 January 2021
11 January 2021
05 January 2021
30 December 2020
27 November 2020
16 November 2020
13 November 2020
03 November 2020
02 November 2020
31 October 2020
26 October 2020
13 October 2020
25 September 2020
10 September 2020
10 September 2020
08 September 2020
01 September 2020
20 August 2020
18 August 2020
17 August 2020
04 August 2020
29 July 2020
29 July 2020
21 July 2020
14 July 2020
10 July 2020
10 July 2020
10 July 2020
29 June 2020
24 June 2020
19 June 2020
18 June 2020
15 June 2020
31 May 2020
16 May 2020
15 May 2020
06 May 2020
05 May 2020
25 April 2020
11 April 2020
02 April 2020
29 March 2020
27 March 2020
28 February 2020
28 February 2020
06 February 2020
08 January 2020
05 January 2020
22 December 2019
22 December 2019
20 December 2019
13 December 2019
02 December 2019
01 December 2019
27 November 2019
26 November 2019
25 November 2019
22 November 2019
20 November 2019
19 November 2019
19 November 2019
07 November 2019
07 November 2019
06 November 2019
06 November 2019
06 November 2019
06 November 2019
05 November 2019
01 November 2019
01 November 2019
25 October 2019
09 October 2019
07 October 2019
01 October 2019
26 September 2019
26 September 2019
15 September 2019
15 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
13 September 2019
13 September 2019
13 September 2019
13 September 2019
13 September 2019
12 September 2019
12 September 2019
12 September 2019
12 September 2019
12 September 2019
12 September 2019
12 September 2019
12 September 2019
12 September 2019
09 September 2019
05 September 2019
28 August 2019
28 August 2019
18 August 2019
15 August 2019
08 August 2019
14 July 2019
14 July 2019
09 July 2019
28 June 2019
17 June 2019
17 June 2019
09 June 2019
08 June 2019
04 June 2019
03 June 2019
31 May 2019
25 May 2019
18 May 2019
17 May 2019
08 May 2019
16 April 2019
13 April 2019
13 April 2019
12 April 2019
12 March 2019
12 March 2019
05 March 2019
03 March 2019
22 February 2019
18 February 2019
15 February 2019
12 February 2019
07 December 2018
29 November 2018
23 November 2018
13 November 2018
09 November 2018
04 November 2018
30 October 2018
24 October 2018
24 October 2018
15 October 2018
09 October 2018
27 September 2018
23 September 2018
09 September 2018
06 September 2018
31 August 2018
26 August 2018
25 August 2018
24 August 2018
22 August 2018
08 August 2018
03 August 2018
29 July 2018
19 July 2018
16 July 2018
09 July 2018
29 June 2018
11 June 2018
15 May 2018
11 May 2018
10 May 2018
08 May 2018
05 April 2018
02 April 2018
27 March 2018
17 February 2018
22 January 2018
20 December 2017
17 December 2017
15 December 2017
01 December 2017
28 October 2017
10 October 2017
28 September 2017
25 August 2017
24 August 2017
24 August 2017
24 August 2017
24 August 2017
21 July 2017
11 July 2017
28 June 2017
11 March 2017
More reviews in

Would you recommend your landlord or letting agent?

Rate your landlord