Tenancy review for 123 Trinity Road in Trinity, London rented from Huxley Land The Trustees Of The Bergh Apton Trust

“Could be nice but landlord is neglectful”
123 Trinity Road, Trinity, London, SW17 7SQ View on map
Overall Tenancy Rating: 2
★★☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆
Moved In: 21/09/2021
Rent: £785
Date reviewed: 27 August 2022
Reviews aren't verified by Marks Out Of Tenancy but we check for and remove fake reviews and content when we’re informed.

Landlord review for Huxley Land The Trustees Of The Bergh Apton Trust, London

Landlord rating: 1
The landlord is not good. I raised the issues of mould multiple times and his only solution was to paint over everything in anti-mould paint rather than address the root cause.

When the handyman visited he said he thought there may be a leak upstairs which caused the mould, as you could hear water running down the wall. He kept saying he would investigate this but never did.

When I left, I asked the landlord for compensation as so many of my possessions had been ruined by mould. He essentially said the mould was my fault for not airing the room properly so he would not be compensating me. The issue is that the room has been fitted with vents on the outside walls and the wardrobe doors which suggests to me that this has always been an issue, otherwise they would not have been installed. My flatmate also informed me that the previous tenant had issues with mould too. The room was as well ventilated as it could be given that it was a ground floor, front-facing room on a busy road in London, so the windows couldn't be constantly open for safety reasons - I'm not too sure what the landlord expects tenants to do. I also had the extractor fan on for hours after I had a shower, but the handyman told the landlord that he visited the property and I didn't have it on. It seemed to me that they were all working together to cover up the mould issue because they couldn't be bothered to find the cause.

Communication is also incredibly poor. We communicated with the landlord via his secretary who was unhelpful. She doesn't reply to emails unless you send multiple follow up emails and call her.

We would often communicate directly with the handymen when we needed something fixed, due to the secretary not replying. They couldn't commit to which days they would visit, often 3 days later than initially agreed and acted with no urgency when we had serious issues.

When you leave the property, the landlord doesn't pay you back the deposit directly and you have to wait for the new tenant to pay you. They don't ask the new tenant to pay you as soon as possible so you can be left waiting for ages after you've moved out for them to pay you. This could be resolved by the landlord managing the deposit better.
More reviews for Huxley Land The Trustees Of The Bergh Apton Trust ⇒

Property review for 123 Trinity Road, Trinity, London

Property rating: 1
The property is modern and bright. The bathrooms and kitchens are fairly new and modern. However, there are mould issues. One of the bedrooms has mould all around the skirting and in the wardrobe. As a result, personal possessions are completely destroyed by mould. The landlord painted everything in anti-mould paint but the mould still came back. The bedroom really smells of damp so I think it's an issue within the building. There is also mould in the bathroom and actual mushrooms grew through the grout! The handyman believed there was a leak in the upstairs flat which caused all of this (as you could often hear water running down the internal wall) but he never investigated it.

The flooring is quite poor and coming up in places. The kitchen has been designed very badly and has very little space to store anything.

It's a shame because it could be a nice flat but the upkeep is really neglected and mould issues are not taken seriously.

Some of the neighbours smoke a lot of weed constantly and the smell can come into the flat too which is frustrating.

There is a bus stop right outside which can be very loud. This also leads to lots of rubbish accumulating around the front of the property/front door step. Even though the landlord owns the whole block, as far I'm aware he doesn't organise for this to be cleaned and individual tenants have to clean it.
More reviews for 123 Trinity Road ⇒

Area review for Trinity, London

Area rating: 8
I really liked the area and there are good transport links. You're five minutes walk from Tooting Bec tube and there are plenty of bus stops very close by (although the one outside the front door is very loud!). There is a fire station on the road and the road is a main route to the hospital. This is something to be aware of as the sirens are fairly constant.
More reviews for Trinity ⇒

Other reviews in Trinity

Address
Reviewed

Other reviews in SW17

Address
Reviewed
31 August 2021
16 May 2020
15 May 2020
23 November 2018

Other reviews in London

Address
Reviewed
20 February 2024
15 February 2024
15 February 2024
15 February 2024
02 February 2024
30 January 2024
19 January 2024
28 December 2023
27 December 2023
22 December 2023
09 December 2023
08 December 2023
07 December 2023
07 December 2023
07 December 2023
07 December 2023
24 November 2023
23 November 2023
23 November 2023
03 November 2023
02 November 2023
02 November 2023
02 November 2023
02 November 2023
31 October 2023
30 October 2023
26 October 2023
26 October 2023
22 October 2023
20 October 2023
13 October 2023
10 October 2023
10 October 2023
10 October 2023
10 October 2023
05 October 2023
05 October 2023
29 September 2023
28 September 2023
28 September 2023
17 September 2023
14 September 2023
14 September 2023
13 September 2023
11 September 2023
09 September 2023
07 September 2023
31 August 2023
31 August 2023
31 August 2023
31 August 2023
30 August 2023
24 August 2023
24 August 2023
17 August 2023
17 August 2023
11 August 2023
01 August 2023
27 July 2023
17 July 2023
10 July 2023
07 July 2023
04 July 2023
17 June 2023
11 June 2023
11 June 2023
10 June 2023
15 May 2023
05 May 2023
11 April 2023
19 March 2023
09 February 2023
09 February 2023
29 January 2023
21 January 2023
13 January 2023
10 January 2023
08 January 2023
04 December 2022
28 November 2022
10 November 2022
10 November 2022
09 November 2022
17 October 2022
14 October 2022
14 October 2022
30 September 2022
30 September 2022
17 September 2022
28 August 2022
09 August 2022
22 July 2022
19 July 2022
12 July 2022
12 July 2022
11 July 2022
16 May 2022
03 May 2022
01 May 2022
25 April 2022
08 April 2022
07 April 2022
10 March 2022
06 February 2022
01 February 2022
30 January 2022
11 January 2022
19 December 2021
13 December 2021
10 November 2021
07 November 2021
06 October 2021
01 October 2021
25 September 2021
18 September 2021
31 August 2021
30 August 2021
30 August 2021
24 August 2021
23 August 2021
14 August 2021
10 August 2021
19 July 2021
21 June 2021
17 June 2021
12 June 2021
27 May 2021
18 May 2021
15 May 2021
14 May 2021
08 May 2021
28 April 2021
21 April 2021
14 April 2021
10 April 2021
06 April 2021
29 March 2021
25 March 2021
18 March 2021
15 February 2021
14 February 2021
14 February 2021
14 February 2021
13 February 2021
29 January 2021
19 January 2021
16 January 2021
12 January 2021
11 January 2021
05 January 2021
30 December 2020
27 November 2020
19 November 2020
16 November 2020
13 November 2020
03 November 2020
02 November 2020
31 October 2020
26 October 2020
13 October 2020
25 September 2020
10 September 2020
10 September 2020
08 September 2020
01 September 2020
20 August 2020
18 August 2020
17 August 2020
04 August 2020
29 July 2020
29 July 2020
21 July 2020
14 July 2020
10 July 2020
10 July 2020
10 July 2020
29 June 2020
24 June 2020
19 June 2020
18 June 2020
15 June 2020
31 May 2020
16 May 2020
15 May 2020
06 May 2020
05 May 2020
25 April 2020
11 April 2020
02 April 2020
29 March 2020
27 March 2020
28 February 2020
28 February 2020
06 February 2020
08 January 2020
05 January 2020
22 December 2019
22 December 2019
20 December 2019
13 December 2019
02 December 2019
01 December 2019
27 November 2019
26 November 2019
25 November 2019
22 November 2019
20 November 2019
19 November 2019
19 November 2019
07 November 2019
07 November 2019
06 November 2019
06 November 2019
06 November 2019
06 November 2019
05 November 2019
01 November 2019
01 November 2019
25 October 2019
09 October 2019
07 October 2019
01 October 2019
26 September 2019
26 September 2019
15 September 2019
15 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
13 September 2019
13 September 2019
13 September 2019
13 September 2019
13 September 2019
12 September 2019
12 September 2019
12 September 2019
12 September 2019
12 September 2019
12 September 2019
12 September 2019
12 September 2019
12 September 2019
09 September 2019
05 September 2019
28 August 2019
28 August 2019
18 August 2019
15 August 2019
08 August 2019
14 July 2019
14 July 2019
09 July 2019
28 June 2019
17 June 2019
17 June 2019
09 June 2019
08 June 2019
04 June 2019
03 June 2019
31 May 2019
25 May 2019
18 May 2019
17 May 2019
08 May 2019
16 April 2019
13 April 2019
13 April 2019
12 April 2019
12 March 2019
12 March 2019
05 March 2019
03 March 2019
22 February 2019
18 February 2019
15 February 2019
12 February 2019
07 December 2018
29 November 2018
23 November 2018
13 November 2018
09 November 2018
04 November 2018
30 October 2018
24 October 2018
24 October 2018
15 October 2018
09 October 2018
27 September 2018
23 September 2018
09 September 2018
06 September 2018
31 August 2018
26 August 2018
25 August 2018
24 August 2018
22 August 2018
08 August 2018
03 August 2018
29 July 2018
19 July 2018
16 July 2018
09 July 2018
29 June 2018
11 June 2018
15 May 2018
11 May 2018
10 May 2018
08 May 2018
05 April 2018
02 April 2018
27 March 2018
17 February 2018
22 January 2018
20 December 2017
17 December 2017
15 December 2017
01 December 2017
28 October 2017
10 October 2017
28 September 2017
25 August 2017
24 August 2017
24 August 2017
24 August 2017
24 August 2017
21 July 2017
11 July 2017
28 June 2017
11 March 2017
More reviews in

Would you recommend your landlord or letting agent?

Rate your landlord