Tenancy review for 8 Home Road in Battersea, London rented from Mark Williams

“Do NOT deal with this man - unscrupulous, law-breaking and corrupt”
8 Home Road, Battersea, London, SW11 3EZ View on map
Overall Tenancy Rating: 1
★☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆
Moved In: 14/04/2021
Date reviewed: 6 February 2022
Reviews aren't verified by Marks Out Of Tenancy but we check for and remove fake reviews and content when we’re informed.

Landlord review for Mark Williams, Battersea

Landlord rating: 1
Completely unscrupulous. Upon moving in, tried arguing that a broken shower - a sanitation fixture and the landlord's obligation under the Landlord and Tenant Act 1985 - would be repaired free but future repairs would be considered a 'fault of the user' and chargeable.

Continually tried to threaten us with private cleaning fees of the communal areas throughout the entirety of the tenancy - this is illegal under The Management of Houses in Multiple Occupation (England) Regulations 2006. Also tried to argue that a professional clean was required whenever another tenant moved out of their room. This is also illegal as the tenancy agreements are per room and so another tenant's leaving should have nothing to do with the continuing housemates.

Excessive and often intimidating communication over email. Would throw a hissy fit if someone didn't reply to an email that was sent - despite everyone in the house being working professionals and being too busy with their lives to constantly placate an overbearing and heavy-handed landlord.

Minor repairs such as replacement of fuses were conducted (I think this was the only one necessary during my tenancy) and thankfully there were no other major issues whilst I was there - I dread to think of his reticence in carrying out more involved repairs.

At the end of the tenancy, the shower issue reared its ugly head again as it was an existing fault when I moved in and he tried to deduct from my deposit which I flatly refused to do - given that it is his obligation by law.

I requested the return of my deposit which he refused to and began ignoring emails. I then went to the deposit scheme arbitration service, which he refused to submit evidence to and wanted to take the issue to court. It was only when I provided him with a legal template requesting the return of my deposit and further compensation - as he failed to insure my deposit within 30 days of my paying it (he has also done this with other tenants although I am not able to provide any other information regarding this so as not to prejudice any further claim that is likely to be made against him), that he returned my money to me.

A separate issue of not allowing personal items to be temporarily stored in the communal areas. I had purchased an expensive hoover that I temporarily leant to one of the existing tenants for safekeeping and collection the next day. This was not there when I returned to collect it the next day. Upon launching an initial complaint with the police, he quoted vacuous terms of the tenancy agreement and refused to deny that he had taken my property, instead insisting it was a 'civil matter' and playing mind games over email, asking me 'what makes you so sure that I have the item you allege is missing'. Any decent and moral person would either immediately deny or admit to their mistake.

I cannot stress enough how much you should avoid dealing with this man. I had some of the most anxiety-inducing and worrisome 6 months of recent memory living in this property. If you see him or other properties in the Battersea/Clapham Junction area, I cannot stress highly enough to avoid.
More reviews for Mark Williams ⇒

Property review for 8 Home Road, Battersea, London

Property rating: 3
Property was in OK condition. Garden furniture old and in need of replacement, which landlord has not done throughout the tenancy. Kitchen small for a house of 5. 5 rooms in total, 2 with en-suite.
More reviews for 8 Home Road ⇒

Area review for Battersea, London

Area rating: 5
Good area, no nuisance from neighbours with links to Clapham Junction station which is a short walk away. By the train line so can get noisy at times and early in the morning when rubbish collection occurs.
More reviews for Battersea ⇒

Other reviews in Battersea

Address
Reviewed
06 October 2021

Other reviews in SW11

Address
Reviewed
06 October 2021
14 May 2021
19 June 2020
07 October 2019

Other reviews in London

Address
Reviewed
20 February 2024
15 February 2024
15 February 2024
15 February 2024
02 February 2024
30 January 2024
19 January 2024
28 December 2023
27 December 2023
22 December 2023
09 December 2023
08 December 2023
07 December 2023
07 December 2023
07 December 2023
07 December 2023
24 November 2023
23 November 2023
23 November 2023
03 November 2023
02 November 2023
02 November 2023
02 November 2023
02 November 2023
31 October 2023
30 October 2023
26 October 2023
26 October 2023
22 October 2023
20 October 2023
13 October 2023
10 October 2023
10 October 2023
10 October 2023
10 October 2023
05 October 2023
05 October 2023
29 September 2023
28 September 2023
28 September 2023
17 September 2023
14 September 2023
14 September 2023
13 September 2023
11 September 2023
09 September 2023
07 September 2023
31 August 2023
31 August 2023
31 August 2023
31 August 2023
30 August 2023
24 August 2023
24 August 2023
17 August 2023
17 August 2023
11 August 2023
01 August 2023
27 July 2023
17 July 2023
10 July 2023
07 July 2023
04 July 2023
17 June 2023
11 June 2023
11 June 2023
10 June 2023
15 May 2023
05 May 2023
11 April 2023
19 March 2023
09 February 2023
09 February 2023
29 January 2023
21 January 2023
13 January 2023
10 January 2023
08 January 2023
04 December 2022
28 November 2022
10 November 2022
10 November 2022
09 November 2022
17 October 2022
14 October 2022
14 October 2022
30 September 2022
30 September 2022
17 September 2022
28 August 2022
27 August 2022
09 August 2022
22 July 2022
19 July 2022
12 July 2022
12 July 2022
11 July 2022
16 May 2022
03 May 2022
01 May 2022
25 April 2022
08 April 2022
07 April 2022
10 March 2022
01 February 2022
30 January 2022
11 January 2022
19 December 2021
13 December 2021
10 November 2021
07 November 2021
06 October 2021
01 October 2021
25 September 2021
18 September 2021
31 August 2021
30 August 2021
30 August 2021
24 August 2021
23 August 2021
14 August 2021
10 August 2021
19 July 2021
21 June 2021
17 June 2021
12 June 2021
27 May 2021
18 May 2021
15 May 2021
14 May 2021
08 May 2021
28 April 2021
21 April 2021
14 April 2021
10 April 2021
06 April 2021
29 March 2021
25 March 2021
18 March 2021
15 February 2021
14 February 2021
14 February 2021
14 February 2021
13 February 2021
29 January 2021
19 January 2021
16 January 2021
12 January 2021
11 January 2021
05 January 2021
30 December 2020
27 November 2020
19 November 2020
16 November 2020
13 November 2020
03 November 2020
02 November 2020
31 October 2020
26 October 2020
13 October 2020
25 September 2020
10 September 2020
10 September 2020
08 September 2020
01 September 2020
20 August 2020
18 August 2020
17 August 2020
04 August 2020
29 July 2020
29 July 2020
21 July 2020
14 July 2020
10 July 2020
10 July 2020
10 July 2020
29 June 2020
24 June 2020
19 June 2020
18 June 2020
15 June 2020
31 May 2020
16 May 2020
15 May 2020
06 May 2020
05 May 2020
25 April 2020
11 April 2020
02 April 2020
29 March 2020
27 March 2020
28 February 2020
28 February 2020
06 February 2020
08 January 2020
05 January 2020
22 December 2019
22 December 2019
20 December 2019
13 December 2019
02 December 2019
01 December 2019
27 November 2019
26 November 2019
25 November 2019
22 November 2019
20 November 2019
19 November 2019
19 November 2019
07 November 2019
07 November 2019
06 November 2019
06 November 2019
06 November 2019
06 November 2019
05 November 2019
01 November 2019
01 November 2019
25 October 2019
09 October 2019
07 October 2019
01 October 2019
26 September 2019
26 September 2019
15 September 2019
15 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
14 September 2019
13 September 2019
13 September 2019
13 September 2019
13 September 2019
13 September 2019
12 September 2019
12 September 2019
12 September 2019
12 September 2019
12 September 2019
12 September 2019
12 September 2019
12 September 2019
12 September 2019
09 September 2019
05 September 2019
28 August 2019
28 August 2019
18 August 2019
15 August 2019
08 August 2019
14 July 2019
14 July 2019
09 July 2019
28 June 2019
17 June 2019
17 June 2019
09 June 2019
08 June 2019
04 June 2019
03 June 2019
31 May 2019
25 May 2019
18 May 2019
17 May 2019
08 May 2019
16 April 2019
13 April 2019
13 April 2019
12 April 2019
12 March 2019
12 March 2019
05 March 2019
03 March 2019
22 February 2019
18 February 2019
15 February 2019
12 February 2019
07 December 2018
29 November 2018
23 November 2018
13 November 2018
09 November 2018
04 November 2018
30 October 2018
24 October 2018
24 October 2018
15 October 2018
09 October 2018
27 September 2018
23 September 2018
09 September 2018
06 September 2018
31 August 2018
26 August 2018
25 August 2018
24 August 2018
22 August 2018
08 August 2018
03 August 2018
29 July 2018
19 July 2018
16 July 2018
09 July 2018
29 June 2018
11 June 2018
15 May 2018
11 May 2018
10 May 2018
08 May 2018
05 April 2018
02 April 2018
27 March 2018
17 February 2018
22 January 2018
20 December 2017
17 December 2017
15 December 2017
01 December 2017
28 October 2017
10 October 2017
28 September 2017
25 August 2017
24 August 2017
24 August 2017
24 August 2017
24 August 2017
21 July 2017
11 July 2017
28 June 2017
11 March 2017
More reviews in

Would you recommend your landlord or letting agent?

Rate your landlord